Skip to content

Posts Listing

Island Image

Our Region

Torres Strait communities

TSRA supports programs across the region, including for 17 inhabited islands of the Torres Strait and the communities of Bamaga and Seisia on the Northern Peninsula Area of mainland Australia.

There are 5 traditional island clusters in the Torres Strait:

Top Western Islands


  • Boigu (Talbot Island)
  • Dauan (Mt Cornwallis Island)
  • Saibai


Western Islands
  • Badu (Mulgrave Island)
  • Mabuaig (Jervis Island)
  • Moa Island – Kubin and St Pauls communities
Central Islands
  • Iama (Yam Island)
  • Masig (Yorke Island)
  • Poruma (Coconut Island)
  • Warraber (Sue Island)
Eastern Islands
  • Mer (Murray Island)
  • Ugar (Stephen Island)
  • Erub (Darnley island)
Inner Islands
  • Kirriri (Hammond Island)
  • Muralug (Prince of Wales Island)
  • Ngurupai (Horn Island)
  • Waiben (Thursday Island) – TRAWQ and Port Kennedy

The 2 Torres Strait communities on the Northern Peninsula Area are:

  • Bamaga
  • Seisia

Torres Strait Islanders and Aboriginal people are advised this website may contain names, images and recordings of people who have passed.