Mer (Murray) Island

The Torres Strait

Mer (Murray) Island

  • TSRA Board Member: Mr Aven Noah
  • TSIRC Councillor: Mr William Akee
  • PBC Chair: Mr Doug Passi
  • TSRA Board Member Contact Details:
    Telephone: 07 4069 0700
    Facsimile: 07 4069 1879
  • TSIRC Councillor Contact Details:
    Telephone: 07 4069 4157
    Facsimile: 07 4069 4133
  • PBC Chair Contact Details:
    Telephone: 07 4090 0055
    0488 921 688
  • Population: 364 (2011 ABS Census)
  • Location: Eastern Group

Mer Regional Plan Community Booklet 2012 Cover Photo

The Murray Group comprises of three (Mer, Dauar and Waier) high level volcanic islands, characterised by red fertile soil and dense vegetation. They are located in the eastern end of the Torres Strait, within sight of the Great Barrier Reef. The islands are the home of the famous "Mabo Case" which resulted in the Australian High Court decision to grant native title to the Meriam people over Mer Island.

The Mer Regional Plan Community Booklet 2012 lists:

  • the needs the community expressed in 2008 during consultations for the development of the Torres Strait and Northern Peninsula Regional Plan 2009-2029, and their status in 2012 (colour coded red,orange or green), thus showing progress in filling gaps in service delivery
  • the services delivered or available and accessible to the community and individuals across the Region
  • contact details for government departments, agencies and programs.