Skip to content

TSRA welcomes the appointment of newly elected additions to leadership team

The Torres Strait Regional Authority (TSRA) has welcomed the election of new Officeholders for the TSRA Deputy Chairperson, Alternate Deputy positions as well as the Member for the TSRA Ward of Boigu following the resignation of two previous Members.

The successful candidates were Mr Getano Lui AM, TSRA Board Member for Iama, who has been elected to the role of TSRA Deputy Chairperson, Mr Horace Baira, Member for Badu as the Alternate Deputy Chairperson and Mr Donald Banu joins the TSRA Board as the Member for Boigu.

The Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) has filled the vacancies in accordance with the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005.

TSRA Chairperson, Mr Napau Pedro Stephen AM, said the TSRA congratulates the candidates on their election to these important leadership roles for the organisation.

“Mr Lui and Mr Baira are experienced Board Members of the TSRA and elected representatives for their communities and have the appropriate leadership skills and qualities to fulfil their new roles with confidence,” Mr Stephen said.

“Mr Banu comes to the TSRA as a returning Member and has a wealth of community experience. Mr Banu served on the TSRA Board during the 2004-2008 and 2008-2012 terms.”

“I look forward to working closely with Mr Lui, Mr Baira and Mr Banu during the Board’s term and welcome their ongoing involvement in supporting and providing strategic direction to the organisation to meet its goals for the Torres Strait region.”

Pictured: Mr Getano Lui AM Deputy Chairperson, Mr Pedro Stephen AM – Chairperson, Ms Mary Bani – Acting CEO and Mr Horace Baira – Alternate Deputy Chairperson

Torres Strait Islanders and Aboriginal people are advised this website may contain names, images and recordings of people who have passed.