Skip to content

TSRA welcomes new Member for Erub

Jimmy Gela (centre) with TSRA CEO Wayne Seekee (left) and TSRA Chair Napau Pedro Stephen AM.

The Torres Strait Regional Authority (TSRA) has welcomed the new Member for Erub, Mr Jimmy Gela, during his recent induction programme into the organisation.

Following the resignation of the previous Member for Erub, Mr Kenny Bedford, the Australian Electoral Commission declared Mr Gela as the successful candidate to fill the vacancy on the TSRA Board.

TSRA Chairperson, Mr Napau Pedro Stephen AM, said Mr Gela comes to the TSRA with a wealth of community experience including involvement in a number of community Boards and Committees.

“He has held the Local Government Councillor position for Erub in the previous term of the Torres Strait Island Regional Council and is the Chairperson of the Erubam Le Traditional Land and Sea Owners (TSI) Corporation RNTBC,” Mr Stephen said.

“I look forward to working Mr Gela during the Board’s term and welcome him to the organisation.”

Mr Stephen said he would also like to take the opportunity to thank the previous TSRA Member for Erub, Mr Bedford, for his commitment and contributions to the TSRA, his community  and the Torres Strait region.

“On behalf of the TSRA Board I wish him all the very best in his future endeavours,” Mr Stephen said.

Torres Strait Islanders and Aboriginal people are advised this website may contain names, images and recordings of people who have passed.