Skip to content

TSRA to celebrate ten years of the Gab Titui Indigenous Art Award in 2017

The Torres Strait and Northern Peninsula Area (NPA) will be celebrating a decade of the Gab Titui Indigenous Art Award in 2017.

The Indigenous Art Award is now one of the biggest events in Gab Titui Cultural Centre’s exhibition calendar; an event which has attracted attention from some of the nation’s leading cultural institutions and been enriched by participation of Indigenous curators and artists in the judging process.

The TSRA Chairperson, Mr Napau Pedro Stephen AM, said since 2008 the Gab Titui Indigenous Art Award has presented an annual collection of contemporary artwork produced in some of our nation’s most remote communities.

“The Art Award was initially established in an attempt to gather a thorough representation of artwork from each of the communities in the Torres Strait and Northern Peninsula Area (NPA),” Mr Stephen said.

“The primary concept behind the Award was to offer an opportunity for local artists to increase their exhibition experience, and to document and provide the audience with an insight into the art and craft being produced in the communities of the Torres Strait and NPA.

“We aim to emulate the experience that artists would have entering any professional Award or exhibition around the nation.”

Mr Stephen said the Art Award is open to Aboriginal and Torres Strait artists, secondary school aged and older, living in the Torres Strait and NPA.

“This year’s guest judge is Director of the National Gallery of Victoria, Tony Ellwood,” Mr Stephen said.

“Entrants have the chance to share in prizes of over $27,000, with a $10,000 first prize and the opportunity to have work featured on the cover of the 2017 Gab Titui Indigenous Art Award catalogue.

“There is also a runner up prize of $5,000, with other category prizes varying between $500 and $2,500.”

A look back at past Gab Titui Indigenous Art Award winners:

2008 Alick Tipoti – Zugubal (lino print)

2009 George Nona – Torres Strait Headdress (dhoeri)

2010 Solomon Booth – Coconut Palm Tree (lino print)

2011 James Ahmat – Nawa Dhangal (carving and pearl inlay)

2012 Segar Passi – Native Title: Our Land and Sea Rights (acrylic on canvas)

2013 Tom Stephen – Warup (drum)

2014 Vincent Babia – Adhe Buiya (lino print)

2015 Nancy Kiwat – Ilan Pamle (ceramic and Twine)

2016 Nancy Kiwat – Popa Dabad (ghost net and twine)

The 2017 Award Presentation and Exhibition Opening will be held on Thursday 8 June 2017, with the exhibition running until Saturday 22 July 2017.

For more information around the Art Award, please contact the Gab Titui Cultural Centre on 07 4069 0888 or at

Torres Strait Islanders and Aboriginal people are advised this website may contain names, images and recordings of people who have passed.