Skip to content

TSRA Board elects officeholders

Photo from Left:

The Board of the Torres Strait Regional Authority (TSRA) has today elected the incoming officeholders positions of Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson and Alternate Deputy Chairperson during their inaugural meeting held on Thursday Island.

With the election of all positions overseen by the Australian Electoral Commission, Member for Port Kennedy, Mr Napau Pedro Stephen AM, has been re-elected as TSRA Chairperson. This sees him return for a second consecutive term.

“I’m humbled that my fellow Board Members have put their trust in me to serve as TSRA Chair. I look forward to leading TSRA to deliver its meaningful programmes and services to the Torres Strait and Northern Peninsula Area communities, with a focus on stronger regional governance and coordination” Chair Stephen said.

Member for Badu, Mr Horace Baira was elected as Deputy Chairperson and filling the Alternate Deputy Chairperson is Member for St Pauls, Mr John Paiwan. “I’m pleased to work in close partnership with both the Deputy Chairperson and Alternate Deputy Chairperson. We make a strong team” Chair said. Member for Badu, Mr Horace Baira Deputy Chairperson and Member for St Pauls, Mr John Paiwan Alternate Deputy Chairperson express their gratitude to the Board for their confidence in electing them to lead as a part of the Board leadership executive.

The next three days will see the TSRA Board meet to conduct general business.

Torres Strait Islanders and Aboriginal people are advised this website may contain names, images and recordings of people who have passed.