Skip to content

Former TSRA Chairperson awarded Order of Australia

The Torres Strait Regional Authority (TSRA) acknowledges the late Mr Terry Tabuai Waia for his service to the Torres Strait community through his recognition as a Member of the Order of Australia on Australia Day 2017.

Indigenous leader and former TSRA Chairperson, the late Mr Waia, was awarded the nation’s most prestigious honour for his substantial commitment to leadership, advisory and advocacy services to Indigenous and Torres Strait Island communities in Far North Queensland.

TSRA Chairperson, Mr Pedro Stephen AM, said the late Mr Waia was an outstanding member of the community and played a major role in the Torres Strait region.

“He devoted almost a decade of services to the TSRA, as the TSRA Member for Saibai then the Chairperson during his 2000 to 2004 term. He was also Deputy Chairperson of the TSRA from 1994 to 1997 and founder of the first TSRA Fisheries Committee,” Mr Stephen said.

“Among many other services to the region, the late Mr Waia was well known for representing the community as Chairman for the Saibai Island Council, Inaugural member of the Torres Strait Protected Zone Joint Authority, Torres Strait Islander Representative for the Joint Advisory Council of the Torres Strait Treaty and Reconciliation Australia Board Member.”

“The late Mr Waia’s understanding of the needs of Indigenous people in the region, and commitment to strengthening the ties between mainland Torres Strait Islander and Aboriginal people and the people in the Torres Strait, has brought much benefit to various communities within the region and his legacy now lives on through this national award.”

The TSRA would like to acknowledge the work undertaken by the late Mr Waia, not only within the TSRA but within the wider Torres Strait community.

Torres Strait Islanders and Aboriginal people are advised this website may contain names, images and recordings of people who have passed.