Skip to content

Torres Strait Regional Authority Election

The Torres Strait Regional Authority (TSRA) Board Election will take place on Saturday 28 November 2020.

The Minister for Indigenous Australians, the Hon Ken Wyatt AM, MP, said this election is an opportunity for Torres Strait Islander and Aboriginal people to have their say on who they want representing them at the regional level.

“The TSRA is an important voice for the Indigenous people of the Torres Strait,” Minister Wyatt said.

The Minister recognises there are concerns about conducting the election during a pandemic and reassures voters the Government is taking all necessary steps to support the safe delivery of the election.

The Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) will implement several safety measures to protect the health and wellbeing of community members and AEC staff. They will also be watching the Queensland election being held on 31 October 2020 closely to evaluate the process for lessons to ensure the safety of constituents.

The election of the 20 member TSRA Board is held every four years. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Minister for Indigenous Australians, the Hon Ken Wyatt AM, MP deferred this year’s election from July 2020.

Find out more

Torres Strait Islanders and Aboriginal people are advised this website may contain names, images and recordings of people who have passed.