Skip to content

Renewal of TSRA’s Native Title Representative Body status

TSRA Chair Mr Napau Pedro Stephen AM

The Torres Strait Regional Authority (TSRA) has been recognised as the Native Title Representative Body (NTRB) for the Torres Strait Area for a further year.

The Australian Government Minister for Indigenous Affairs, the Honourable Nigel Scullion MP, has formally recognised the TSRA as the NTRB for the Torres Strait Area from 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2019 under the Native Title Act 1993.

TSRA Chairperson, Mr Napau Pedro Stephen AM, said the TSRA is pleased to announce that it has received documents from Minister Scullion renewing its status as the NTRB of the Torres Strait area.

“I can confirm that the TSRA has successfully applied for recognition as the Native Title Representative Body for the Torres Strait Area,” Mr Stephen said.

“The TSRA was invited by the Minister to make a submission early in 2018 in order to be recognised as the NTRB for the Torres Strait Area for a further year, which has now been confirmed in a letter from his office.

“The TSRA provides a unique legislative model for Indigenous regional governance, and as the NTRB, TSRA Board Members also consider matters relevant to their NTRB functions.”

There are fifteen representative bodies in Australia. As the NTRB for the Torres Strait region, the TSRA represents and assists holders of native title and native title bodies.

“The TSRA assists members of the community with applications for native title, negotiations over Future Acts and Indigenous Land Use Agreements as well as providing general support of the island and sea Registered Native Title Body Corporates in the region,” Mr Stephen said.

When the current period ends on 30 June 2019, the NTRB functions for the TSRA will be reassessed against its progress on the remaining claims over the 12-month period.

Torres Strait Islanders and Aboriginal people are advised this website may contain names, images and recordings of people who have passed.