Torres Strait Coastal Management Committee (TSCMC)

The Torres Strait Coastal Management Committee (TSCMC) was formed by the TSRA in 2006 to “develop a strategic coordinated approach to dealing with disaster mitigation, coastal erosion, inundation and long-term coastal planning issues in the Torres Strait through collaboration with all parties; with an emphasis on the most severely impacted islands; and to provide a pathway for community members to address coastal issues on their islands.” The TSCMC meets biannually.

Membership of the TSCMC includes the TSRA, the Torres Strait Islands Regional Council, Torres Shire Council, Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council, the Queensland Government Department of Environment and Heritage Protection, Emergency Management Queensland, James Cook University, CSIRO, Reef and Rainforest Research Centre and the Australian Government Department of Climate Change.

The TSRA's membership of the TSCMC is shown in Table 4-7

Table 4-7 Torres Strait Coastal Management Committee

Mr Joseph Elu Chairpersons and Member for Seisia
Ms Chelsea Aniba Member for Saibai
Mr Eric Peter Member for Boigu
Mr Getano Lui Jr Member for Iama
Mr Willie Lui Member for Warraber
Mr Francis Pearson Member for Poruma
Ms Hilda Mosby Member for Masig