TSRA Structure

The TSRA Organisational Chart 2012

TSRA Organisational Chart 2012

Click here to open the chart in another window.

The Torres Strait Regional Authority (TSRA) consists of two parts - the elected Board and the Administration.

The TSRA Board

The TSRA Board consists of 20 elected Members who are all Torres Strait Islander or Aboriginal people living in the region. They are elected every four years by their individual communities.

The Board determines TSRA's policies and budget allocations, and is the political arm of the TSRA.

The TSRA Board elected in October 2012 comprises:

Badu: Mr Maluwap Nona

Bamaga, Northern Peninsula Area: Mr Reginald Williams 

Boigu: Mr Eric Peter

Dauan: Mr Sam Maka

Erub (Darnley): Mr Kenny Bedford

Hammond: Mr Mario Sabatino

Iama (Yam): Mr Getano Lui (Jnr)

Kubin, Moa Island: Mr Saila Savage

Mabuiag: Mr Keith Fell

Masig (Yorke): Miss Hilda Mosby

Mer (Murray): Mr Aven Noah

Ngurupai (Horn) and Muralug (Prince of Wales): Mr Yen Loban

Port Kennedy, Thursday Island: Mrs Romina Fujii

Poruma (Coconut): Mr Francis Pearson

Saibai: Miss Chelsea Aniba

Seisia, Northern Peninsula Area: Mr Joseph Elu

St Pauls, Moa Island: Mr Kiwat Lui

TRAWQ, Thursday Island: Mr John Abednego

Ugar (Stephen): Mr Jerry Stephen

Warraber (Sue): Mr Willie Lui

Portfolio Members:

Board Members may also assume Portfolio responsibilities related to the TSRA Program areas. These Portfolio Members, together with the Chair, Deputy Chair and Alternate Deputy Chair comprise the Board Executive:

TSRA Chairperson: Mr Joseph Elu (centre in photograph below)

TSRA Deputy Chairperson: Mr Aven Noah (right, photograph below)

TSRA Alternate Deputy Chairperson: Mr Willie Lui (left, photograph below)

TSRA Board Alt Deputy, Chair, Deputy 2012

TSRA Portfolio Member for Economic Development: Mr Sam Maka

TSRA Portfolio Member for Fisheries: Mr Kenny Bedford

TSRA Portfolio Member for Environmental Management: Mr Willie Lui

TSRA Portfolio Member for Governance and Leadership: Mr Joseph Elu

TSRA Portfolio Member for Healthy Communities: Mr Keith Fell

TSRA Portfolio Member for Safe Communities: Mr John Abednego

TSRA Portfolio Member for Culture, Art and Heritage: Mr Aven Noah

TSRA Portfolio Member for Native Title: Mr Maluwap Nona

Visit The TSRA Chair's Page for the Chair's first public interview after being elected to the post in November 2012, and the latest overview report by the (former) Chairperson on the challenges experienced by and the achievements of the TSRA  You can also access editions of the Chair's column from previous years.

The TSRA Administration

 The TSRA Administration is made up of staff who are Australian Government Public Servants. The Administration staff carry out the functions and responsibilities of the TSRA.

The Chief Executive Officer heads the Administration and is appointed to the position by the Minister for Indigenous Affairs.

[back to top]