Muralug (Prince of Wales) Island

The Torres Strait

 Prince of Wales Regional Plan Community Booklet 2012 Cover Photo

Muralug (Prince of Wales) Island, is known as the largest of the Torres Strait Islands, spanning some 203 square kilometres. It is administered by the Torres Shire Council, which is based on nearby Thursday Island.

The Prince of Wales Regional Plan Community Booklet 2012 lists:

  • the needs the community expressed in 2008 during consultations for the development of the Torres Strait and Northern Peninsula Regional Plan 2009-2029, and their status in 2012 (colour coded red, orange or green), thus showing progress in filling gaps in service delivery
  • the services delivered or available and accessible to the community and individuals across the Region
  • contact details for government departments, agencies and programs.