

Media Release No. 454

For release: 25 June 2012

TSRA Election Declared

The Acting Minister for Families, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs, the Hon. Brendan O'Connor has declared Saturday 15 September 2012 as the polling day for the Torres Strait Regional Authority (TSRA) Board Member's election for the 20 Wards in the Torres Strait region.

In 2011, the TSRA Board conducted a review of its governance structure. A major outcome of the review was that the TSRA Board Members election would be held separately from the Local Government elections.

The Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) will conduct polling in the 20 Torres Strait and Northern Peninsula communities who are represented on the TSRA Board – these communities include – Badu, Bamaga, Boigu, Dauan, Erub, Hammond, Ngurapi & Muralag (Horn and Prince of Wales), Iama, Kubin, Mabuiag, Masig, Mer, Port Kennedy, Poruma, Saibai, Seisia, St Pauls, TRAWQ, Ugar and Warraber.

On Tuesday 17 July, 2012, the AEC will start to call for nominations for candidates who wish to stand for election to represent their community on the TSRA Board. Nominations will close at 5.00pm on Wednesday 15 August 2012.

To be eligible candidates must:

- Be a Torres Strait Islander or Aboriginal person
- 18 years of age or over
- Be on the Commonwealth Electoral Roll and live at an address within the ward they wish to represent
- Not be a TSRA staff member or consultant of the TSRA
- Not be bankrupt
- Not have in operation a personal insolvency agreement in effect with their creditors under the law relating to bankruptcy
- Not have been convicted of an offence against a Commonwealth, State or Territory law and sentenced to imprisonment for one year or longer and two years have passed since the release date or if a prison term was not served two years have passed since the conviction date
- Not have been convicted of an offence against a Commonwealth, State or Territory law involving dishonesty and sentenced to imprisonment for three months or longer and two years have passed since the release date or if a prison term was not served two years have passed since the conviction date

The AEC will advertise the availability of nomination forms as soon as nominations open. An Election Guide will also be available at that time to assist both nominees and voters.

All Torres Strait Islander and Aboriginal people who live in the 20 TSRA Wards who are 18 years of age and over, enrolled on the Commonwealth Electoral Roll by 5.00pm on 31 August 2012, and enrolled at an address in these wards are encouraged to vote.

Mobile polling will be conducted by the AEC for all outer island communities. Communities will be informed of times, date and polling places for their communities prior to the mobile polling teams arriving. Polling booths will be opened on Saturday 15 September 2012 at TRAWQ, Port Kennedy, Horn Island and Bamaga. Should a voter be unable to attend on their polling day, they should submit a pre-poll or postal vote.

Further information can be obtained from the Returning Officer,

Tony Anderson TSRA Returning Officer PO Box 1146 Cairns QLD 4870 Telephone: 4051 7188 Fax: 4051 7694 Email: tony.anderson@aec.gov.au or visit <u>www.aec.gov.au</u>

ENDS

TSRA Media Contact - Ken Orr (07) 4069 0700 or 0448005207