



Media Release

No. 478

For release: 14 November 2012

TSRA ELECTS EIGHT PORTFOLIO MEMBERS AS TORRES STRAIT ADVOCATES

The Torres Strait Regional Authority (TSRA) has elected eight board members as policy champions and advocates to support new Chairperson, Mr Joseph Elu.

The board members will represent program areas in the TSRA including Culture, Art and Heritage, Environmental Management, Fisheries, Economic Development, Native Title, Healthy and Safe Communities and Governance and Leadership.

The TSRA Chairperson, Mr Elu, said appointment to the portfolio areas allowed members to consider the interests and well-being of the entire Torres Strait region.

"This means members are not representing personal or sectional interests and it ensures good regional governance in an open, equitable and accountable way.

"The portfolio members all have demonstrated interest and commitment to make advances in their specialist areas and they will be the driving forces in policy and initiatives to foster progress and development.

"They will also provide a valuable link between TSRA staff and outer island and mainland communities by accompanying staff during consultations and other important community meetings."

Mr Elu said portfolio members would also be invited to represent the views of the TSRA on internal and external committees in and outside the Torres Strait region as required.

The new TSRA Portfolio Members:



TSRA Chairperson and Portfolio Member for Governance and Leadership: Mr Joseph Elu, Member for Seisia



TSRA Deputy Chairperson and Portfolio Member for Culture, Art and Heritage: Mr Aven Noah, Member for Mer



TSRA Alternate Deputy Chairperson and Portfolio Member for Environmental Management: Mr Willie Lui, Member for Warraber



TSRA Portfolio Member for Fisheries: Mr Kenny Bedford, Member for Erub



TSRA Portfolio Member for Economic Development: Mr Sam Maka, Member for Dauan



TSRA Portfolio Member for Native Title: Mr Maluwap Nona, Member for Badu



TSRA Portfolio Member for Healthy Communities: Mr Keith Fell, Member for Mabuiag



TSRA Portfolio Member for Safe Communities: Mr John Abednego, Member for TRAWQ

ENDS