

Media Release No.472

For release: 27 September 2012

TSRA CHAIRPERSON TO STAND DOWN AFTER 12 YEARS

The results of the TSRA elections have now been declared for 19 of the 20 Wards. An election for the ward of Kubin will be conducted in December 2012.

The outgoing TSRA Chairperson, John 'Toshie' Kris, said the result showed a healthy democracy continued to flourish in the Torres Strait region.

Mr Kris has been a TSRA board member for three terms and was the Chairperson for the last two terms.

"As I end my term as the longest serving Chairperson of a board that is unique in Australia there are a lot of people I would like to thank, especially my colleagues who served with me as members of the last two boards.

"Both boards were fortunate to have some strong and dedicated leaders who were able to make hard decisions that have led to positive changes for people in the Torres Strait region.

"We have made a lot of progress towards delivering the benefits outlined in the Torres Strait Development Plan and each of the TSRA's Program Areas has made a significant contribution to the region.

"I have been assisted in my role by the TSRA's Portfolio members who have made huge contributions to progress and improve the standing of the Torres Strait region at both national and international levels.

"I would also like to thank the Chief Executive Officer and staff for their strong support and professionalism. I have no doubt that the new Board can look forward to this high level of support and advice continuing."

"The support and partnership of the Torres Shire Council, the Torres Strait Island Regional Council and the Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council Mayors has also been critical in progressing projects including the Major Infrastructure works and Integrated Service Delivery that have greatly improved health and living standards across the region."

Mr Kris, who will continue to represent St Pauls as a Torres Strait Island Regional Councillor, has ruled out a return to the TSRA in 2016, saying his 12 year involvement had been very rewarding.

Mr Kris will be contacting all the newly elected Board Members and invited to attend the TSRA Board induction training which is scheduled for the end of October 2012.

After the induction week, Board Members have time to return to their communities to consider the appointment of the new TSRA Chairperson and the Deputy Chairperson.

The election of the new TSRA Chairperson is will be the first order of business at the new TSRA Board's inaugural meeting on 13 November 2012. This election will also be conducted by the Australian Electoral Commission.

The new TSRA Board comprises:

Nine members who will be serving their first term: Eric Peter – Boigu, Sam Macka – Dauan, Mario Sabatino - Hammond, Hilda Mosby - Masig; Aven Noah - Mer; Yen Loban - Ngurapai and Muralag; Kiwat Lui - St Pauls; Jerry Stephen - Ugar and Chelsea Aniba- Saibai.

Five members who served on the recent TSRA Board have been returned: Reginald Williams – Bamaga, Kenny Bedford – Erub, Keith Fell – Mabuiag, John Abednego – TRAWQ and Willie Lui – Warraber.

Five members who served on previous TSRA Boards have been re-elected: Maluwap Nona - Badu; Getano Lui (Jnr) - Iama; Romina Fujii - Port Kennedy, Francis Pearson – Poruma, and Joseph Elu - Seisa.

ENDS

TSRA Media Contact – Ken Orr (07) 4069 0700 or 0448 005207