



For release 16 September 2014

TSRA HONOUR PAST AND PRESENT CHAIRPERSONS AT 20TH ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION

The Torres Strait Regional Authority (TSRA) has honoured Chairpersons past and present at a 20th Anniversary Dinner at the Gab Titui Cultural Centre last week.

Awards recognising their service to the organisation were presented to Mr Getano Lui Jnr., the first Chairperson of the TSRA from 1994 to 1996, Mr John Abednego who was the second Chair between 1996 and 1999, and Mr Joseph Elu, the current Chair from 2012.

Two other Chairs, Mr John (Toshie) Kris from St Pauls and Mr Terry Waia from Saibai Island were not able to attend the celebration but will receive the same award.

Mr Elu said while the recognition was an honour, the TSRA wouldn't be where it was today without the help and support of many other individuals and organisations.

"The success of the TSRA is the result of many people and many hands at work to improve the lifestyle and wellbeing of our people," Mr Elu said.

"This not only includes past Chairpersons, but General Managers and staff as well, some who have been with us from the very beginning.

"Without this collective effort and vision we would not be able to empower Torres Strait Islanders and Aboriginal people to determine their own affairs.

"We should be proud to have such a rich history, proving that self-governance for Indigenous peoples can work in Australia and we can determine policies for our region."

Since its formation in 1994 the TSRA has attracted over \$1 billion in funding, supported 52 Indigenous students in their tertiary studies, established a land and sea ranger presence in 14 communities and secured funding for the construction of sea walls to address tidal inundation in six vulnerable communities.

ENDS

TSRA Media Contact – Bruce Nelson on 0423 403 449



I-r Joseph Elu, Getano Lui and John Abednego