

Media Release No. 599

For release 10 November 2014

JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE ON CONSTITUTIONAL RECOGNITION MEETS WITH TSRA

The Torres Strait Regional Authority (TSRA) has met with the Joint Select Committee on Constitutional Recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples this week to give its views on the issue's proposed referendum.

The Joint Select Committee is made up of eight members, with Northern Territory Senator Nova Peris, Queensland MP Shayne Neumann, and WA Senator Rachel Siewert and MP Ken Wyatt visiting the region.

TSRA Chairperson Mr Joseph Elu said the Committee was keen to hear from the TSRA on steps that can be taken to move towards a successful referendum to recognise Torres Strait Islander and Aboriginal peoples in the Constitution.

"The Committee sought our input on the timing, specific content and wording of referendum proposals, and on the mechanisms to build further engagement and support for constitutional recognition in the Torres Strait," said Mr Elu.

"A successful referendum proposal will require strong community support, and this will mean a comprehensive education program.

"It is important to acknowledge the history, culture and languages of Torres Strait Islander and Aboriginal peoples in Australia's founding document, so it's imperative that we come forward with our views on the proposal and its process."

The committee tabled an interim report in July 2014 after more than 250 public consultations and 10 public hearings and is due to table a progress report in late 2014.

ENDS

TSRA Media Contact – Bruce Nelson on 0423 403 449